top of page
Search
  • Heather Kendall

Anything You Can Do, I Can Do Too

A few weeks ago I decided to treat myself to some new pens, safe to say I'm absolutely in love with them and they're much better than some other ones I bought a few years ago.


Focusing on the title, I've decided that's the theme of my final exhibition at the university of Chester. Looking through research and actually viewing pop culture media myself, there's a severe lack of representation for many groups of people in mainstream media, I feel like that needs to change.


While representation for POC is increasing, it's not really happening quickly enough, in my opinion anyway. Media is saturated with white people, particularly men, which is why I think subconsciously I draw women and non-binary characters than straight up men, it's like I'm trying to diversify my own world because I'm so bored of the one I'm always seeing. I've started working on a couple of sketches recently which is slowly but surely leading me to what I want to do for my final piece. I'm really excited to see how it turns out!



The focus of these pieces is people with amputations- I have only seen these represented in 2 games I've previously played- The Arcana and When The Night Comes- but both games have the same kind of amputation. I feel like it's important to be as diverse as possible, more and more representation is needed in our media, but it also needs to be normalised.


Anything You Can Do, I Can Do Too- just because someone is different or has a disability, doesn't mean they can't do the same things as everyone else.


2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page