top of page
Search
  • Heather Kendall

So Long And Goodnight (Final Statement)

Updated: May 5, 2021

I can't actually believe I'm coming to the end of my time at university, only feels like five minutes ago that I started.


Uni overall has been a really challenging experience for me, from moving away from home for the first time, to having to work to strict deadlines, working on more than one project at a time. While it's been difficult, I've picked up some really helpful and important things along the way and made some really good friends and colleagues.


While I have the odd day where I struggle worrying about whether I'm good enough to be an illustrator, I always come to the same conclusion: I am good enough. I enjoy what I do and I want to use my skills whether it be for personal or professional benefit. Just because my work doesn't look like someone else's doesn't mean it isn't good or unworthy of being out in the world. Having people who have different and varying styles to me is good really, it allows me to approach and collaborate with people who's work looks totally different to mine- meaning exciting and bespoke pieces can be created in a friendly environment.


One of my downfalls during my time at university was maybe not working on enough live briefs and networking as much as I could have done. My mental health has had a huge impact on me and therefore has also impacted my time and work- but I hope to work on that in the future, no matter what career I go into.


 

Speaking of careers and plans, I'm still not entirely sure what I want to do when I graduate. The world of design is still really quite a scary place to me and I'm not sure that I'm suited to the fast paced and competitive world that is design. Like I've mentioned previously, I'm just not like that! While I've been drawing since I could pick up a pencil, animals are my biggest love and I think I'd be more suited to go down that sort of route.


I would definitely keep working on my illustration and design work however, I still absolutely love drawing and posting it on my Instagram, but I'd probably do it on a part time basis- I'm looking to set up an Etsy shop to sell my work on. I've also had my eye on a screen printing kit and exposure unit, so hopefully I can invest in that to expand my future endeavours.


 

Although the pandemic has hit everyone really hard, I think creative students have been hit the hardest. It's been really difficult focusing myself in an environment that isn't creative- the walls of my bedroom look great, but they don't offer me much creative inspiration. To be honest though, for some reason I've been inspired to pick up a pen and draw that way again, which I haven't really done for quite a while- that's been quite a nice experience since I felt like I'd lost my skills in traditional drawing.


Although not physically being in the studios in Kingsway, the extended time at home has allowed me to work longer on projects which I might not have done had I been on the premises of the university, I won't lie, I do like to chat, and while I've been away from the print room I've seriously missed it; but it's made me realise that screen printing is definitely something I'd like to focus on in the future.




16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page